Objects in the mirror are closer than they appear…

We all have done it. We all sit and look at ourselves in the mirror and find all of the smallest most minute flaws about our bodies. I know I have done this many times and have made myself so aware of the things I don’t like that it was hard to focus on what I did like. Whether this takes place at home or even in a gym, mirrors tend to influence people’s feelings about themselves.

In the society we live in today, it is common thought that more attractive people have more friends and get more attention. In addition, it is thought that the more compliments you get on your appearance, the more confidence you have when you are walking around in public. I have seen myself go up and down on my body image and it is not fun. It was impacting how I lived my life and what I wore. It was impacting the person I was because I was so unhappy. One day I realized I need to do what I think is best for me. I started focusing more on what I did like about myself instead of the things I did not like. I stopped weighing myself (and still to this day do not ever weigh myself). I believe a scale can have a huge impact on your confidence. I started wearing clothes I loved and joined a running group with my friends, because I wanted to. Doing all of these things made me more confident than ever in my body image which in turn made me happier and more content with who I am.

Many sources say gaining weight can be caused by more than eating unhealthy. It can be caused by lack of sleep or stress. There are many other reasons why people fluctuate in their weight.  Based off my experience, there are many different reasons why I was gaining weight. So today when people comment on my appearance and ask what I do to stay healthy. I say I live a healthy life. I eliminate scales, I eliminate stress, I eliminate focusing on negative things that happen during my days and I start living in the now. I focus on what I need to do for me to be happy and because of this it is easy for me to stay happy.

So I encourage you to get up, make changes in your life that are for the better. Changes that eliminate stress and make you happy. Do some form of exercise that you love, whether it is by yourself or with friends around you. Look for good recipes to try, on the Internet and in cookbooks. I truly believe this will balance your life more and happiness will be present on a daily basis. What do you think?

Check back with my blog for more healthy recipes to come!!

Image Credit: Google Images

Leave a Reply

